Honorary chairman

O. C. Zienkiewicz

Professor O.C. Zienkiewicz, CBE, FRS, FEng. --- Professor Emeritus and Director of the Institute for Numerical Methods in Engineering at the University of Wales Swansea. He holds the UNESCO Chair of Numerical Methods in Engineering at the Technical University of Catalunya, Barcelona, Spain, and the Joe C. Walter Chair of Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin, Texas, USA.

He was born in England, attended Primary and Secondary schools in Poland, and obtained his BSc, PhD and DSc at Imperial College, London, England. He has received circa 20 honorary degrees including ones from Ireland, Belgium, Norway, Sweden, China, Poland, Scotland, Germany, France, England, Italy, Hong Kong, Hungary and the United States. He has also received many special honours and medals including the title of Commander of the British Empire and the Royal Medal from HM Queen Elizabeth II, the 'Carl Friedrich Gauss' medal of the West German Academy of Science, the Nathan Newmark Medal of the Amercian Society of Civil Engineers, the James Alfred Ewing Medal of the Institution of Civil Engineers, (UK), the Worcester Warner Reed Medal of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, the Newton Gauss Medal at the International Association for Computational Mechanics, the Gold Medal of Institution of Structural Engineering in 1978. He is a Foreign Member of the United States National Academy of Engineering and of the Polish Academy of Science.

His contributions range over the wide field of mechanics and engineering. Since his first paper in 1947 dealing with numerical approximation to the stress analysis of dams (using relaxation and finite differences) he has published over 500 papers and written or edited 25 books.

It is with deep sadness and regret that we have to share the sad news that Professor Olgierd Cecil Zienkiewicz passed away on 2nd January 2009. He will remain vivid in our memory and our hearts for ever.

International scientific committee

  • O. Allix, France
  • K.J. Bathe, USA
  • T. Belytschko, USA
  • M. Bonnet, France
  • R. de Borst, Netherlands
  • T. Burczyński, Poland
  • B.N. Chetverushkin, Russia
  • L. Demkowicz, USA
  • P. Deuflhard, Germany
  • Z. Gaspar, Hungary
  • M.G.D. Geers, Netherlands
  • M. Griebel, Germany
  • D. Gross, Germany
  • W. Gutkowski, Poland
  • C. Hirsch, Belgium
  • T.J.R. Hughes, USA
  • S. Idelsohn, Argentina
  • S. Kaliszky, Hungary
  • A. Kassab, USA
  • M. Kleiber, Poland
  • V. Kompis, Slovakia
  • J. Korbicz, Poland
  • P. Ladeveze, France
  • R.W. Lewis, UK
  • G. R. Liu, Singapore
  • G. Maier, Italy
  • H.A. Mang, Austria
  • R. Michałowski, USA
  • Z. Mróz, Poland
  • P. Naittaanmaki, Finland
  • J.T. Oden, USA
  • E. Onate, Spain
  • D.R.J. Owen, UK
  • J. Orkisz, Poland
  • M. Papadrakakis, Greece
  • U. Perego, Italy
  • A. Perelmuter, Ukraine
  • J. Periaux, France
  • E. Ramm, Germany
  • F.G. Rammerstorfer, Austria
  • B. Schrefler, Italy
  • J. Schroder, Germany
  • E. Stein, Germany
  • J. Sladek, Slovakia
  • J. Soric, Croatia
  • P. Steinmann, Germany
  • R.L. Taylor, USA
  • J. Teixeira de Freitas, Portugal
  • Z. Waszczyszyn, Poland
  • W.L. Wendland, Germany
  • J.R. Whiteman, UK
  • P. Wriggers, Germany
  • Z.S. Wu, Japan

National scientific committee

M. Kuczma

K. Wilmański

  • R. Będziński
  • R. Białecki
  • A. Borkowski
  • T. Chmielniak
  • C. Cichoń
  • K. Dems
  • P. Dłużewski
  • A. Garstecki
  • D. Gawin
  • J. Holnicki-Szulc
  • W. Karmowski
  • M. Klasztorny
  • P. Konderla
  • W. Kosiński
  • T. Kowalewski
  • T. Lewiński
  • T. Łodygowski
  • E. Majchrzak
  • B. Mochnacki
  • A. Nowak
  • W. Ostachowicz
  • J. Pamin
  • M. Pietrzyk
  • J. Rakowski
  • R. Schaefer
  • N. Sczygiol
  • J. Skrzypczyk
  • A. Styczek
  • A. Truty
  • T. Uhl
  • Z. Więckowski
  • L. Ziemiański

Organizing committee

W. Szajna

  • G. Cyrok
  • A. Denisiewicz
  • A. Frątczak
  • A. Gontaszewska
  • U. Góral
  • A. Kaliszuk
  • B. Kuczma
  • K. Kula
  • M. Mrówczyńska
  • B. Płoszaj-Kobyłecka
  • T. Pryputniewicz
  • E. Sapeńko
  • W. Serylak
  • T. Socha
  • K. Urbańska
  • P. Urbański
  • T. Wiśniewski

Visit counter: 107681